Skip to main content

Web Accessibility


WCAG 1.0

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 1.0 Documents

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 W3C Recommendation 5-May-1999, contains 14 guidelines and 65 checkpoints:

  1. Provide equivalent alternatives to auditory and visual content.
  2. Don't rely on color alone.
  3. Use markup and style sheets and do so properly.
  4. Clarify natural language usage.
  5. Create tables that transform gracefully.
  6. Ensure that pages featuring new technologies transform gracefully.
  7. Ensure user control of time-sensitive content changes.
  8. Ensure direct accessibility of embedded user interfaces.
  9. Design for device-independence.
  10. Use interim solutions.
  11. Use W3C technologies and guidelines.
  12. Provide context and orientation information.
  13. Provide clear navigation mechanisms.
  14. Ensure that documents are clear and simple.

Important: WCAG 2.0 was published in December 2008, and is recommended over WCAG 1.0.

WCAG 2.0

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Documents

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 are organized into four general principles:

Principle 1: Perceivable
Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive.
Principle 2: Operable
User interface components and navigation must be operable.
Principle 3: Understandable
Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable.
Principle 4: Robust
Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies.